*Recap of 2012*

To say the least 2012 was a difficult year, also a VERY rewarding year. Here is a little (well a lot) of what happened

Image

  • Late December 2012 we found out that our precious baby boy was retaining fluid in his brain and after that I had multiple doctor’s apt
  • We had learned that our baby would be handicap and they didn’t know the severity of things
  • On January 31, I went to the University of Utah hospital for an MRI and ended up in the L&D room for early labor. I was in the hospital for a week before being sent home strictly on bed rest.
  • That week we learned that our baby most likely had a condition called Holoprosencephaly (we would only know for sure after he was born) which is where the brain does not separate from the right and left side, which in most cases causes severe retardation (btw I hate that word) major face deformations and many babies don’t make it through birth and the ones who do, don’t live very long.

Image

_____________________

Image:

  • While in the hospital I lost my job, which also happened to be who we had insurance through.
  • While on bed rest countless of hours were spent trying to figure out health insurance, possible unemployment, Medicaid, and any financial help we could find, unfortunately at that time things were not looking good for us, since I was in bed rest I couldn’t qualify for unemployment and since I haven’t been a U.S. Resident for 5 years I did not quality for Medicaid, and cobra was going to be SUPER expensive.
  • Meanwhile Lance was working LOTS of over time also while trying to take care of me while on bed rest.
  • I went in for another check up on Feb 29 (hoping that things were looking better and that I would be taken out of bed rest) however, I got re-admitted to the hospital I was 28 ish weeks pregnant, things were not looking good. my cervix went from measuring 1.5 cm (which is extremely thin) to .5 cm and I was dilated 2 cm.

Image

_____________________

Image

  • While I was still in the hospital from being admitted the end of Feb, on Tuesday March 6, 2012 at 12AM I started to bleed, was told everything was ok and the baby was fine.  Around 4 am things got worse and I was rushed to labor and delivery, I was dilated to a 4 and my doctor was optimistic that we could hold off labor a little longer… Long story short… after 16 hrs of labor (unwanted labor) there was no more stopping labor around 7 pm I was dilated to an 8 and it was time for the epidural, at 9:07 a beautiful little 3 pound 4 oz baby boy was born. We just got a tiny glimpse of him and off to the NICU he went. It was almost midnight before we were able to go to the NICU and see him. I will never forget that day (definitely didn’t go according to plan)
  • On March 8 I got released from the hospital and Lance and I went home, without our baby.
  • Lance and I celebrated our 4 year anniversary
  • My wonderful sister, mother in law, and Lance’s aunts threw me a wonderful baby shower where we got VERY spoiled.
  • After Sebastian was born it was a crazy busy month, I don’t think we missed a day of taking a trip to SLC to visit our baby boy, poor Lance was still working over time, surviving on hardly any sleep while I felt hopeless trying to find a job while I was supposed to be on maternity leave with my baby boy in my arms.

Image

_____________________

Image

  • I was fortunate to find a wonderful job at McKenna Financial Services in which I started part-time May 7th.
  • Sebastian’s due date 5/14/2012 came and he was still not home
  • I celebrated my first mother’s day (which I hope will be better next year)
  • Lance and I took a weekend off to go camping with our good friends Liz and Jared, we felt very guilty but we were very stressed and overwhelmed and simply tired of the drive to SLC every day it was a good weekend (it was hard to enjoy knowing we had a little baby fighting for his life, but it was much-needed and I’m glad we were able to do that.)
  • Sebastian had his first surgery on May 30th where he got a Nissen (they tied his stomach around his esophagus to stop him from refluxing) they inserted a G feeding tube in his belly, and repaired 3 hernias.
  • Sebastian had an MRI and the doctors confirmed he had Holoprosencephaly, 4 days after that the day after a ward fast for our family we spoke to genetics who told us Sebastian did NOT have holoprosencephaly, which now meant we didn’t know what he had but we knew it’s nowhere close to as bad as the doctors had thought. (WHAT A BLESSING THAT WAS)

_____________________

Image

  • Finally the day that I thought would NEVER come was finally here, June 15, 2012 probably one of the happiest day’s of the year, Sebastian got to come home. He weighed 10 pounds at the time and was 3 ½ months old
  • Adjusting to a baby with a feeding tube was not easy, Lance and I took a week off to try to adjust to things.
  • Lance Celebrated his first father’s day

Image

_____________________

Image

  • Lance’s Brother and his family from Canada came to visit we had SO much fun spending time with them.
  • By the time Sebi was home for a month things were starting to feel normal, Lance and I were used to our work schedule and taking care of Sebi on our own. We had gotten used to his sleeping patterns. He started smiling mid July, and talking end of July, his smiles just melts my heart. And it’s SO fun to listen to him talk.
  • On July 29th Sebastian got blessed, it was an AMAZING day, he looked SO cute in his little outfit, we were surrounded by loved ones and lance gave him the most wonderful baby blessing I have ever heard. That was SUCH a wonderful day, the feeling I had during that brief moment of silent before his blessing was incredible. I felt like no matter what happens Sebastian WILL be ok, and we as a parent will also be ok.

Image

_____________________

Image

  • Sebastian had a swallow study and he passed a honey consistency, which meant we could start practicing bottle feeding.
  • Sebastian also went to see the Neo-Surgeon who had good news for us, that the fluid in his brain was stable.

_____________________

SEPTEMBER

  • Sebastian had surgery #2 where they repaired his cleft palate, split uvula, put tubes in his ears, and clipped his tongue
  • Sebi had another swallow test and passed the nectar consistency
  • Lance and I got to go through the temple and get sealed as a family for all time and eternity

Image

_____________________

Image

  • Lance and I celebrated our birthday’s in which his mom Jan was super nice and threw us a wonderful combined party.
  • Sebastian had his first Halloween and he was a baby duck and looked SO cute
  • We were given the go ahead to remove Sebastian’s G-Tube because we were able to fully transition him to the bottle

Image

_____________________

Image

  • Yet another swallow test this time he didn’t pass any thinner liquids than before, so still with the nectar consistency
  • Sebastian had surgery # 3 his circumcision with a little more to it
  • we celebrated thanksgiving at the Turners and as always had a wonderful dinner and great time with them, Sebastian even ate a little bit of sweet potato.

_____________________

Image

  • Sebi’s first CHRISTMAS oh how wonderful Christmas was, the Turners came over to our home on Christmas eve where we ate lots of yummy food, played games and had a wonderful little Christmas devotional, Christmas day we woke up early and opened presents, it was so fun of course Sebastian had no idea what was going on but it was definitely fun to spend Christmas with our little guy, We went to the Turners for lunch and then went to my sister’s later that evening, Sebastian got so spoiled by everyone and it was a very long non napping day.
  • Surgery # 4 Sebastian had his G-tube hole repaired
  • New years eve is probably one of my favorites holiday’s we go to the Turners and they have a super great party with lots of game food and noises as midnight hits. Sebastian went to bed around 8 and we were at the Turners until 5:30 am

Image

This is SO super long and I apologize. But I just couldn’t forget 2012. Now looking back I wouldn’t change a thing, all the trials and challenges we went through made us SO much stronger, made us become better people, built our faith and testimony, brought us closer to our heavenly father, and most importantly thanks to Richard G. Scott 2012 makes perfect sense, it was in 2012 that the Lord felt that Lance and I were prepared to grow more therefore he gave us experiences that stimulated growth, understanding, and compassion which polishes us for our everlasting benefit. To get us from where we are to where He wants us to be requires a lot of stretching, and that generally entails discomfort and pain. And that’s exactly what 2012 was about.

I feel so blessed that my Heavenly father trusts Lance and I to have SUCH a special baby boy who brings us so much joy and laughter every single day.

Thank you so much to everyone who has been there for us in the year 2012 for all the prayers the support, the financial help the meals brought to us, the many gifts to Sebi, and everything else.

And most of all thanks to my wonderful husband, it hasn’t been an easy year for any of us, I think he definitely had the worst of it.  I don’t know where I would be without my sweetheart, Lance thanks for ALL you do for our family!

What to expect from 2013:

-Sebastian’s first birthday
-LESS SURGERIES
-Brazil trip in July
-Lance’s 3 year anniversary at Thrive
–My 1 year anniversary at McKenna Financial
-Our 5 year anniversary and 1 year temple anniversary

And many more unknown wonderful things in Image

Leave a Reply

